top of page

The Introverted Duckling

Gluten-Free Bread, Dewy-ness, Sunshine and Rainbows

Being on long-term antibiotics is completely un-fun. Insomnia, lower mood, less appetite... So I thought to myself, instead of focusing on the problems in my life, why not focus on what is currently making you happy. Would you like to know what is currently making me happy? If you do, read on!

1) Wheat-free/Gluten-free Bread

I sought out this little loaf in my local Asda as I have recently taken a notion to cut down on wheat/gluten products. I had an inkling that eating too much wheat makes my stomach unnecessarily bloated and probably isn't all that wonderful for me. Whether it's linked or not, since cutting down on wheat, my stomach does appear to be that little bit flatter. It's probably also partly due to the fact that I am putting emphasis on cetain tummy-targeting exercises which are part of my yoga routine. I also like to make home-made pizza and am now substituting part of the flour content for gluten-free flour. Read on for my luscious home-made pizza recipe!

2) Home-Made Pizza

Friends and relatives may have already partaken of the Casey home-made pizza experience. But if you're completely out of the loop, here's how I make my delicious alternative to store-bought, less-filling and less-healthy options.

For the base I simply put: 1 cup wholemeal flour, 1.5 cups gluten-free flour, 2.5 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt, 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 cup water into a mixing bowl and mix. Once it's inbetween sticky and firm (you can add more water or flour if necessary), I knead it for about 3-5 minutes, until the dough is a little firmer and has risen slightly.

I then roll out the dough onto a flat, floured surface until it is about 1cm thick. I transfer the base into a pizza/quiche baking tray (floured and buttered or over some grease-proof paper), and add my toppings. I like to use what a already have in the fridge. Leftover pasta sauce makes a great pizza base!

I then bake the pizza for about 10-15 mins at 180° C, until the edges are brown and the cheese is melted. If the base still feels too soft I put it back in the oven for another 5 minutes.

Et voilà, it really is that simple! :-)

3) Busking (Because it's not all about food!)

Well it is mostly about food ;-), but music is great too! I've just started busking on my street right outside the door of my house, which is great since I can plug in my amplifier to my own electricity supply using an extension cable. What's even better is earning money busking. Double whammy! Last time I busked, I got £25 in an assortment of small change and even bigger notes. I was quite overwhelmed. I really enjoy making people smile as they stop to listen to my covers and originals.

4) My Body Shop Radiant Highlighter

I really love using this, especially on warm summer days, as it gives a sort of subtle, dewy finish to my make-up. I use it in a C-shape around my eyes, down the bridge of my nose, down the middle of my chin and just above my lips. A little bit really does go a long, long way. It takes my make-up from every-day subtle to a little bit special.

5) Banana Oat Cake (Because one must finish on a food-note)

I've been making this recipe for a few weeks now, usually at the weekend so it will last me during the week, should I crave something a little sweet but not too naughty! It's very simple to do, contains some of your 'five-a-day' and satisfies a sweet-tooth.

To make it, I simply put: 3 cups of rolled oats (aka plain porridge oats), 2 chopped bananas, 1 cup no-added-sugar apple sauce, 1 tsp cinammon or mixed spices, 1 cup dark choc chips, 1 cup soya milk into a mixing bowl and mix. If I don't have any apple sauce or purée, I substitute with honey. Then I transfer the mixture into a greased baking tray and bake for about 15 mins at 180° C. Eureka! Sugar-fix sorted!

bottom of page