top of page

The Introverted Duckling

Some things investing more into music has been teaching me (and how it’s paying off!)


Music is my passion.

I love writing. I definitely want to be a published author. I also love painting. It fills my heart up with so much joy. I strongly like baking, walking, nature, and all sorts of things. But when it comes to music, nothing makes me feel so ecstatic. It’s always been that way for me, I just never truly believed I could actually make it. Whatever ‘make it’ actually means.

I’m a strong believer that if you’re passionate about something, if it consumes most of your waking thoughts (or many of them at least), if doing it/investing in it/dreaming about it makes you feel happy, then you have that desire for a reason and pursuing it will be good for you and the rest of the world, too. Ignoring that dream or desire would be doing a disservice to yourself and those around you.

I’ve realised that I’ve had blockages that have held me back.

Self-doubt, fear and excessive self-criticism have left me feeling less-than and have prevented me from taking steps towards achieving my goals. I have spent far too long listening to the little voices in my head that tell me that I am not good enough, that everyone else is better so why should I bother anyway, and that having dreams such as this is childish and a waste, especially since they rarely contribute (at least at the beginning) to making a living.

I decided to see what would happen if I began confronting these thoughts. I started to imagine what my future would look like if I truly could achieve the life I desire. I would have lots of gigs - paid ones! I’d have albums out. Perhaps several. I might even get invited to other place s to sing. I’d have at least one song on the radio. I’d be able to live off of my creative pursuits. Not just survive; thrive!

When I began picturing all of this, and believing like I could truly achieve, within months I had my first E.P ready to be launched, a launch-gig in a local pub, and now I’m about to have my second gig. I feel more positive about my music and creatively the songs keep coming and keep getting better.

I really think it’s all about your mindset. You have to be the one who believes in yourself. No-one else can lift you up to the place where you think you have what it takes. You need to be your own cheerleader, despite any negativity, or lack of encouragement. Don’t look to others for approval. It will only keep you stuck.

Just a few thoughts. This would apply to any area of your life where you want to achieve more. You can and will see the fruition of your dreams, if you believe in them.

bottom of page